AIM Was the Original Dating App, and Now Its Going Offline Forever.
Is AOL a dating site?
Currently, America Online offers personals dubbed Love@AOL by Match.com on AOL for people who subscribe to the America Online service. AOL said love.com and Match on AOL will coexist and the new site doesnt threaten Match.coms relationship with AOL, which lasts through 2006.
What are AIM messages?
AIM (AOL Instant Messenger) was an instant messaging and presence computer program created by AOL, which used the proprietary OSCAR instant messaging protocol and the TOC protocol to allow registered users to communicate in real time. The company discontinued AIM as a service on December 15, 2017.
Can you see old AIM messages?
As long as logging is enabled in your AIM client, you can view prior conversations on your Mac. When logging is enabled, an option to view log files is added to your AIM client, and your AIM conversations are saved to a log file in HTML format.
How do you retrieve old AIM conversations?
How to Recover Old AIM ConversationsLaunch AIM on your computer and log into your account with your username and password.Click the View option in the main menu bar of the application.Click Show Logs in the options that appear. Choose the Buddy name to recover old conversations that took place with that buddy.More items
Are AIM messages saved?
If you want to save your chat history, AOL Instant Messenger, or AIM, gives you an option to save your instant messages as archives. When you close your chat, the file is saved in your documents folder, where you can access them at any time from the AIM software.
Can you view old AIM messages?
As long as logging is enabled in your AIM client, you can view prior conversations on your Mac. When logging is enabled, an option to view log files is added to your AIM client, and your AIM conversations are saved to a log file in HTML format. AIM opens the log file for viewing in your default Web browser.
Can you recover AIM messages?
The answer is yes as long as you or your buddy never disabled the option to save a copy of your chats. You also need to be able to sign in to your old account. Note that images and files are not saved with the chat logs and must be manually saved.